2024 Premier12 Teams Confirmed… Korea enters the tournament ranked No. 4,

The 2024 Premier12 teams have been finalized. South Korea will enter the tournament ranked No. 4. Panama, ranked 10th, will be competing in the Premier12 for the first time.

On December 20, the World Baseball Softball Confederation (WBSC) officially announced the field for the third edition of the Premier12 to be held in November 2024.

Japan (World No. 1), Mexico (World No. 2), USA (World No. 3), South Korea (World No. 4), Chinese Taipei (World No. 5) and Venezuela (World No. 6), according to the WBSC Baseball World Rankings released in December, Netherlands (ranked 7th), Cuba (ranked 8th) Dominican Republic (ranked 9th), Panama (ranked 10th), Australia (ranked 11th), and Puerto Rico (ranked 12th) will participate in the 2024 Premier12.

Ten teams – Japan, Mexico, the United States, South Korea, Taiwan, Venezuela, the Netherlands, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, and Puerto Rico – have advanced to their third consecutive tournament. Australia is making its second consecutive appearance, while Panama is making its Premier12 debut.

WBSC President Riccardo Fricari said: “Congratulations to the world’s top 12 teams for qualifying for the Premier12. After two memorable editions of the WBSC’s flagship event, we look forward to another year of the best international baseball competition that will captivate fans around the world.”

South Korea (winner in 2015, silver in 2019) and Japan (bronze in 2015, winner in 2019) are the only teams to have medaled at both Premier12s. The United States (silver in 2015) and Mexico (bronze in 2019) have also appeared on the podium.

The 2024 Premier12 will take place from November 10-24, 2024. The 12 teams in the tournament will be divided into two groups and play a round robin, with the top two teams from each group competing in a super round. The first and second place teams from the Super Round will play in the tournament final, while the third and fourth place teams will play head-to-head for the bronze medal.

The tournament group stage will be held in Taiwan and the United States (location TBD), with Group A taking place from November 10-14 and Group B from November 14-18 (with the opening game in Nagoya on November 13). The Super Round matches are planned for November 21-23 at the Tokyo Dome. The tournament final and bronze medal match will be held on November 24, also at the Tokyo Dome.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *